There’s so many Groovy things to do…

fitty-madebyfitty-oldbook-scrapbooking-studiocalico-americancrafts-coupleOne of my favorite things to do is to use old books as Scrapbooks. I’ve actually given them as gifts more than I’ve made for myself… but I have a few works in progress that I add to as I get just the right photo. I’m quite picky when it comes to what photos I use for my old book books… Old book book scrap book books. sheesh…
But with today’s apps and programs, you can pretty much make any photo look like it was taken when the book was written. And lately, I think God is trying to tell me that I was born too late. Well not lately, my whole life actually… Things of old just seem to gravitate toward me… People just give me furniture that looks like it was George Washington’s cousin’s wife’s mother-in-law’s. They leave me nik naks that look like they’ve been run over by trains. And they know that I will like them. And now I’ve moved to a house that was built in 1802… kinda by chance… so it’s all good because now my stuff matches my house! And my old book scrapbooks fit right in!

fitty-madebyfitty-oldbook-scrapbooking-studiocalico-americancrafts

This is just more proof that anything works as a scrapbook. I used some paint and confetti to embellish. Not much involved here. It’s just about what you think looks good.  I know I always talk about doodling.  But seriously, it’s my favorite embellishment.  You don’t have to be a master artist.  That’s why it’s called doodling.  It’s mindless scribbling!  And it just looks good no matter what you do.  And if you don’t like the way it looks, cover it up with a sticker.

Seriously folks…  I’ve kinda be re-inspired to scrap some older photos..  Moving always forces you to look through old boxes… and I found the motherload of pics and old albums.  So many have good scrap potential.  I’m always torn about how to organize my scrapbooks. Like, should this one be just for this year?  Should this one be just of the dog?  Should I start a new one every year for just me and Daryl?  AHHHHH, it’s brain wracking…  So I decided that my old book scrapbooks are going to follow no rule.  They will just be.  Any photo I come across that I think would make a good arty entry to my old book will just be rendered admittance.  No questions asked.

 

Stay Groovy.

XO Fitty

Leave a Reply

