Baked Apples

Fitty-apples-baked-recipe-yum-2

 

An old fashioned fav in our house that can be tweaked as you like. You can get as simple as brown sugar and butter, or get crazy and throw dates or raisins, apple pie spices, and some vanilla ice cream. Ok, I didn’t think I’d be mentioning vanilla ice cream so soon.

But anyway, here goes:

Ingredients:

1. Some Apples! – Granny smith or Golden would probably be my first pick, but this time we used Gala because we already had them. I don’t think you can really go wrong, though for some reason a honey crisp doesn’t seem like the best choice. I have no idea why, but I just feel like they are the watermelon of apples… and baked watermelon just doesn’t sound good. Hey, if you try it and it’s good, let me know!

2. Brown SUGAR! – A staple in a lot of my meals and desserts.

3. Cinnamon!

4. faux Butter! – I use Earth Balance – (click for website and nutrition information) So far this is the only company I have found that I trust to be totally free of animal products. So I can be sure there are no eggs or dairy in the mix. They do make nut spreads, but there are no traces of peanuts or tree nuts in thier buttery spreads according to them so I can feel safe in feeding these to my daughter. And it’s also non-GMO and gluten free. The two spreads I use most often are the Earth Balance original and the Soy-free spread. The soy-free spread in my opinion has a slightly better taste and is great for baking pie crusts and breads! But the original gets the job done just as well.

The rest of these ingredients are optional:

Maple Syrup

Raisins or dates

nutmeg

clove

stickers

Wait, except for stickers… they are not easily chewed..

STEP 1

Preheat the oven to 375°

STEP 2

Cut the core out of your apples from stem to about a 1/2 inch from bottom. Remove any seeds.

Fitty-apples-baked-recipe-yum-2

You don’t have to be neat about this… just go crazy.

Fitty-apples-baked-recipe-yum-3

STEP 3

Fill your apples all the way to the top with the brown sugar. Then sprinkle on your spices.

Fitty-apples-baked-recipe-yum-4

STEP 4

If you want to add syrup or other ingredients, do that now…

Then throw a pat of Earth Balance on top of each apple. You can sprinkle more cinnamon and spices on top of the butter also if you like.

So really, this is a “to your taste” recipe. There’s no set measurements because every apple is different! I just go by filling it up with as much of the stuff I like as I want! Remember to overdo it on the brown sugar, because most of it melts in the oven.

STEP 5

Fill a baking dish about a 1/2 inch with boiling water and stand up your apples in it.

Bake for 40-50 minutes depending on size of apples and that’s it!

Fitty-apples-baked-recipe-yum-5

Top with “So-Delicious” Creamy vanilla frozen dessert and you’ve got an awesome after dinner sweet tooth tamer.

So-Delicious is again another company that makes dairy and nut free ice cream that uses special equipment to ensure that there is no cross contamination of nuts. A lot of the time, people with nut allergies can’t even have regular ice cream because of the nut traces that may be in the product. So so far, this is the only ice cream I’ve allowed my daughter to have.

Here is a link to an allergen and certification chart for thier dessert products.

S0-Delicious chart

You can also get coupons and recipes on thier site!

So, if you take them out of the oven, and they look like they’ve just aged 68 years, then you’re good! They will taste much better then they look. heh

Fitty-apples-baked-recipe-yum-6

ENJOY!!!

Leave a Reply

