Bible Journaling

Fitty

So Roo and I cracked open our new Journaling Bibles so we thought we’d share a couple of the pages we were working on.

The bible we both have is the ESV Journaling Bible from Crossway.  Besides being adorable, it’s small enough to carry around and enjoy wherever whenever. Available on Amazon here: ESV journaling bible

I started in Nehemiah because that’s where we are at church right about now. My first journal was actually something our Pastor said because I loved it so much. “You cannot hide a heart that has been broken by God.”

image

Though I plan to be pretty messy with this Bible, I like to kinda jot important things on sticky notes first, then decide what I want the focus of the journaling to be.  So most of the time, it will probably be my favorite scripture or passage from the pages, but sometimes, you just need a beautiful statement like this to look back on.

And as Roo and I were journaling together, we decided to go back and highlight all the verses she had already learned in Awana, so I did the same in mine.  So of course, we started with John 3:16:

image

So if you don’t know the Gospel, there ya have it right there:

image

Which is the whole point of EVERYTHING…  funny how I didn’t learn that in the Roman Catholic church growing up…

Roo went on to 1 Corinthians as well. She used some stamping on this page and then actually colored them in with highlighters. We both sponged a bit of ink for our backgrounds.

image

We are having so much fun doing this, and I think it’s really helping her and I memorize scripture as well.  We hope you’ll join us and share your journaling! God Bless and have a great week!

4 thoughts on “Bible Journaling

  1. N. says:

    That’s very interesting, I’ve never heard of journaling bibles before 🙂 I’m Muslim and we have to read the Quran in Arabic so for those of us who don’t know Arabic, there are Qurans with translation (and some with translation and explanation) in your preferred language and we end up jotting in and highlighting this the same way we do textbooks :p But I love this concept of thick blank borders for journaling ❤️

    • FittyUpdike says:

      Yes, we just started doing this after we got these Journaling Bibles. Our other Bibles, like you said, have jotting and highlighting… but yea, this thick edge makes it nice for getting artsy! Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

