12 Crafts of Christmas – Day 5 – Scripture Present Tags

It’s Monday and we’re gonna make this evenings craft light and easy.

image

 

All that is really required are some tags and some pens.. perhaps a stamp or watercolors.

You can grab these tags pretty cheap at any craft store, or you could make your own.  They also sell tag punches.

Here is a link to a tag/twine duo on Amazon: Kraft Tags

And here is a link to a Tag punch: PUNCH

So it all depends on how much you think you will actually use tags.  I end up using them more than can think of.  Most frequently I use them in scrapbooking. And sometimes they end up in my planner or as a bookmark.

 

I had a pile of these Kraft tags, so I decided to use them to make some decorations for my Christmas presents. For some reason, I love the look of a brown Kraft tag hanging off a gift or gift bag. I went pretty rustic and simple with my designs.

image

I started of by edging the tags with a dark ink. This is one of those little steps that I feel like if I skip, makes such a big difference. It really just adds such a nice punch to the border. Then I ended up putting a base of watercolor. Nothing special, just any kinda color to give it a pale coating. Little dripping on some, but mostly a light wash.  After that I decided what Scripture to use on each. And though you might be the type of person who hates their handwriting, I think this is the type of project that lends well to a variety of writing styles. Because of the craft and the watercolor, it kind of already has a crafty look, so I think the imperfect handwriting really lends well to it.

image

I do have one set of Scripture stamps from Close to my heart so I used one stamp from that for the Anchor tag. So I might have picked something else to go with this Anchor, like Hebrews 6:19, but in this instance I actually thought that block print went well visually with it. I have some anchor themed fabric, so I used that to eyeball while I was drawing this one. It was kinda a no-brainer because I used the fabric to make myself a zipper pouch to hold my pens and highlighters so it was sitting right next to me. I just kinda looked over and said… “Oh… that would make a good tag graphic…”

“19 This hope we have as an anchor of the soul, a hope both sure and steadfast and one which enters within the veil

 Hebrews 6

The pens I used to doodle with are these MICRON pens. They are the 005 size so ideal for super skinny lines.

image

So yea, I think before we get all wrapped up in the shopping spirit, we ought not to forget why we are here and why we are celebrating Christmas in the first place. It may not be the day exactly, but let our hearts be on the right track and our minds in the right place.

I made a nice, short video of the doodling if you so choose to set your eyes, other than that, enjoy this week of Thanksgiving and God Bless!

For some reason the music is taking a bit to attach itself to this vid, so if it’s still silent, I apologize… but should be together shortly!

Leave a Reply

