12 Crafts of Christmas – Day 9 – The Bunting of Christmas Past

image

So…  every year I seem to find a pile of old Christmas cards that never got sent. The pile of extra ones … that either came back in the mail… or were just… extra. And I’ve thought of making a mini album with them… but I’ve never gotten around to it.

So this idea came to mind… to print out the photos onto printable fabric and turn them into festive bunting.  lol.  That way I could display them for the Holidays and stroll down memory lane at the same time…

I suppose after another five years, I’ll make another one.

 

image

So bunting is one of those things I love to sew. I just love the look of it… when Eleanor (Roo) was a baby, I made a bunch and decorated her room with it. I made a big banner with her name on it. I made birthday bunting. I made Boo Bunting for Halloween. I even made Dora the Explorer bunting (still hanging in her room)!

So I thought, why not Christmas Bunting.  Actually, I was kinda shocked when I realized I’d never made any.

So two things are different about this bunting then other buntings I’ve made. One, I’ve never put photos on it. And two, I’ve never overlapped my pieces.

image

So anyway, this project is pretty easy and builds on skills we learned in some of our other Christmas Crafts like Bias Tape (apron straps) and sewing triangles…(tree ornaments). 

You can make your triangles as big as you like, I made five bigger ones, and four smaller ones.

So you’ll need:

  1. Fabric- of your choosing
  2. Printable fabric
  3. Ribbon, string, or ric rac for the ends to hang it.
  4. Photos of Christmas past ready to print!

 

So here is our video tutorial!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

