12 Crafts of Christmas – Day 10 – Quilted Christmas Zipper Pouch

image

 

This is another project that you could simplify if need be. You can totally skip the “quilted” part and save yourself a few steps.

And to be honest, I originally did not plan on doing a quilted pouch.  I was just going to do a straight up normal run of the mill zipper pouch. But the closer Christmas gets… the more quilty I feel.

Have no idea what I mean by that. Someone does.

image

 

So anyway, for this zipper pouch as is, you will need:

  1. Fabric
  2. 7 in’ zipper – (like a dollar in walmart… sometimes less) You can also get a whole lot from amazon ridiculously cheap. If you’re planning on making christmas gifts… (wink)
  3. Batting – the fluffy stuff in the middle.  There are many different brands.  No need to break the bank here.  Should be able to get a roll for less than $5. And again, you can find this at walmart.
  4. If you are planning on quilting, make sure you locate your sewing machine’s quilting foot.  Mine looks like this. It should have some kind of circular hole at the bottom. And like I mention in the video, my sewing machine does not allow for the feed dogs to be dropped… so it kinda makes it difficult to do free motion sewing, but it is possible! So for small projects, most machines can quilt just fine.  If you have a darning plate attachment, that will help as well. I’m pretty sure mine came with one, but I can’t seem to locate it..  lol.  Also, these items are cheap on amazon. You can usually find a replacement for your machine pretty easily. Make sure it fits your machine though. My old singer quilting foot was a totally different beast than my Janome.  So be careful!

And that’s basically it. Very inexpensive to knock out a bunch of these.

You’ll need two pieces each of:

  1. Outside fabric
  2. Lining
  3. Batting

All cut at 8 x 7, or however big you want your pouch. I cut the batting slightly smaller. You can watch video for more details about that.

image

 

And even if you’ve never quilted before, I don’t think you need to worry about your stitches. I just kinda went wherever with them. For a gift, I may plan out a better design, but for the tutorial I didn’t get too serious about it.

image

For my outside, I first stitched four squares of different Christmas fabrics together. You don’t need to do this, but you can if you’re feeling extra adventurous! I think it made a nice effect.

 

So here’s our tutorial! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

