12 Crafts of Christmas- Day 12 – December Daily Album

You didn’t think I’d make it through all 12 crafts without getting scrappy did you??? Ha! Well… I actually didn’t get too scrappy yet. But the scrapfest is inevitable due to this self-given prompt.

So for those of you who aren’t wrapped up in the Scrapbooking community like I am… especially around this time of year… you may not know what “December Daily” means.

This whole December Daily thing was started by Ali Edwards, a very talented scrapbooker among other things… So if you want to join in and are clueless, she has some kits to get you started on her site: Aliedwards.com

I have nothing new so far myself.  I’m aiming to jump into my stash and make most of it a kind of organic whatever I can find type thing. But I may grab a few festive bits here and there.

The idea is to document the month of december… daily…  with some kind of story. Even if you sat on the couch all day and watched “Elf,” you should include that. I don’t think there are any problems coming up with material to scrap because it’s the busiest month for most and there are usually at least 9 different parties to attend.

image

Well, I hate to admit this, but I’ve never actually finished a December Daily album. I’ve started them… had the best intentions… but for some reason… they just never got to the point of being display worthy. To be totally honest, most of my own mini albums never get finished.  I only finish the ones that I make as gifts. I must need that “deadline” to actually make things happen.

But this year, I’ve decided is the year! And I think the key is organization. In past years, I’ve waited until after the holidays to even think about this album. So this year, my last craft for the 12 Crafts of Christmas will be the first step to making my December Daily a reality!

image

I probably would have used another old book… but they all went to my Advent Calendar… lol.

I found this plain Kraft Binder that I never used. I believe I got it from Close to My Heart. But they have them at any craft supply store in all kinds of sizes.

So I’m looking at this binder… and I just didn’t want to do what I usually would do which is cover it with fabric, so I slept on it.  The idea came to me at 6am to paint it like a Christmas door… so I got up and got started.  Lol…    coffee is always made at that time anyway because I set it up the night before for my husband to just push the button in the morning before he leaves for work. So I got to work in my Christmas Owl jammies mommy got me for Christmas last year… and I got my cup of coffee and started marking out where I wanted  to cut holes for the top part of the door. I know I want to make the first inside page something that can peek through the cover.  Haven’t exactly planned it out yet, but that will be for another post. This is strictly a cover post.

image

I did end up using some fabric for the side. So… a little won’t hurt. But I think overall, I’m keeping the color scheme cool. I did a blue berry wreath on the front instead of a red one. Mainly because I had blue paint handy.  So after I saw the blue and white I mentally decided on a blue, grey, white color palatte for the rest.

 

image

So there’s nothing really to tell here because all I did was paint it so far. But I did a video of the painting if anyone wants a tutorial on how to paint an old white door with a blueberry wreath on it.  heh…  Well, not necessarily a tutorial because I don’t know anything about painting except that I like to do it.

So I used Golden Acrylics: Zinc White, Cerulean Blue, and Mars Black. A couple of Artist’s loft brushes, a sponge, and my fingers.  I may still add some green holly leaves perhaps. Haven’t decided if that will wreck the coldness of the cover.  We shall see!

Oh, and I also used an exacto knife to cut out the holes it the door! It wasn’t hard. The album is like a chipboard.. so didn’t take long to break through!

Anyway, thanks to all who have followed us through our 12 crafts!  We hope this has inspired someone to get crafty this Christmas!

Here is my painting vid to music. I like to listen to music when I paint so I figured I’d stop talking for this one. Lol. I was listening to Band of Horses and Andrew Bird while I painted this… but I don’t think I’m allowed to use their music for my video. haha… But I do reccomend doing your own painting while listening to them.

God Bless! Happy December!

Leave a Reply

