Bible Journaling and the Scripture Memory Challenge

So we’re doing this thing at our church where we are memorizing scripture together. Pastor Pina at Shadyrest Bible Church is encouraging us to video ourselves reciting the scripture. HA! So far we have done one short vid from week one… and have enjoyed some of our friends videos. I think it’s a great idea and I hope more folks will join in! Even if you’re not a member at our church, feel free to join us! It would be awesome to get a giant flood of scripture videos going! And that can only lead to some enlightening conversation!

For week one, we did Romans 3:28

image

 

Like a lot of you, I’ve recently gotten into Bible Journaling. And I have to say this is probably the best way to memorize scripture! I do have a checklist for everyday where I can keep track of my verses, but when you actually take a good amount of time to sit down and write out the verse like this, embellishing it, and really thinking about each word… it tends to just stick in your brain like glue. The picture you’ve created with it allows your minds eye to just capture it and call upon it when needed.

So even though I haven’t done this with every verse I’ve tried to memorize, I am going to try to make an effort to do this with our church group memorization. For this one I did a process video. I admit, it’s not my favorite page I’ve done, but nonetheless, it serves it’s purpose of helping me to dive into and think about the text.

You can see half-way through I end up covering up a word and re-drawing it because I didn’t like the way it came out… but that’s the beauty of this… there are no mistakes! Just like life, you never arrive and you’re always learning.

This week’s verse was 2 Timothy 3: 16-17

All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, 17 that the man of God2 may be complete, equipped for every good work.

image

It was a lot of words to fit, now that I look at it, I don’t know why I didn’t group the teaching part in with the other “for ____ ” parts.

I’ll have to remember that for my next journaling bible. lol.

Here’s my process video:

And here is Eleanor’s page!  She’s also memorizing scripture along with us!

image

 

So now onto the scripture memorization video! Have a blessed week!

xoxox

Fitty

 

Leave a Reply

