Bible Journaling – Ephesians 2:8-9 and Illustrated Faith unboxing

So this week I got an amazing surprise in the mail from a dear friend! This women amazes me.  Even if her own life is in chaos, she still seems to find time to touch others on a daily basis!

image

So she sent me one of these devotional kits I’ve been stalking for a while on various social medias. Shanna Noel is the founder of this product and it’s really taken off since we’ve all been gettin’ artsy fartsy with our bibles.

Check out the website here: Illustrated Faith

So I was so excited to dive into this! I decided to do an unboxing to start of the bible journaling video this week. So check it out if you’re curious as to what is in this devotional kit!

Kevin also makes an appearance in this video since he’s been MIA for awhile…

This week’s verse for the #Scripturememorychallenge was:

Ephesians 2: vs. 8-9 NIV

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast. 10 For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

I added 10 in there too…  just coz. This is the NIV translation. My journaling bible is ESV so it’s slightly different, but that’s the gist.

ESV VERSION:

For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.

I can’t wait for this weeks sermon to be posted, it was so good, our Pastor explained this verse perfectly. And you can expect that in EVERY sermon, Pastor Pina brings the Gospel! And he doesn’t bring it in a basket of flowers with a pat on the back. He brings it in a bucket of conviction with a kick in the pants. 

Here is a link to the page where you can listen or view sermons.  There is also some there from our good friend Booky!  lol  So this weeks isn’t there yet, but check back and I will also try to let you know when it is.

Shadyrest Bible Church Sermons

We’ve been going through the Sola series:

They are as follows: “Sola Scriptura” (Scripture Alone); “Sola Gratia” (Grace Alone); “Sola Fide” (Faith Alone); “Solus Christus” (Christ Alone); and “Soli Deo Gloria” (To God Alone Be Glory).

This past week we were on Sola Gratia. Grace alone. And this verse from Ephesians speaks it clearly. It is through God’s Grace that you have been saved! Not of your own works! You can’t save yourself! You can’t check off a list of good works to get yourself to heaven. You’ll just have to come back for the sermon by Pastor Pina to get the idea is this makes no sense to you. Because really, he did such an amazing job of digging into this, I couldn’t even begin… lol.

image

And amazingly enough, I was shown grace through this gift I got from my friend. She purchased this gift, had it sent to me, and I received it. I didn’t do anything good to be able to enjoy this awesome gift! I did nothing at all! She paid for it and gave it to me even though I’m a rotton sinner. Lol.  Ironically enough, Pastor uses this example in his sermon… and then exactly as he said it, it happened to me days later. Amazing. That’s what the song Amazing Grace is about people! It’s amazing because we don’t deserve it.

 

So anyway, here’s my process video. It couldn’t be more fitting this week as I share the Grace that was shown to me for me to be able to get creative with my bible journaling through the gift of a friend. I got a little messy with this weeks journaling page… but like I say in the video… there’s no wrong way to do this! Just enjoy the process and the time in God’s word!

God Bless!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

