Bible Journaling – John 13:34-35

image

So this week’s (actually last week’s) Bible verse for memorization is John 13:35.

But I decided to add in 34 for my Bible journaling purposes.  I wanted the main idea of loving one another to stick out. So I used the text from part of verse 34, but boxed around the whole thing so I would be reminded to pay attention to the rest of it.

ESV John 13 vs. 34-35

34 A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. 35 By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.

image

 

“By this all people will know that you are my disciples”

I try to tell this to the kids in my life frequently… and it’s a really hard thing for kids to understand because there’s a level of self that’s a bit bigger than it should be when you’re young. I tell them that just because someone does something hurtful to you, that doesn’t mean you need to do something even more hurtful back. There is no need for “get even.” The best thing you can give back after being scorned is love. Like one example our Pastor gave; tipping big for the absolute worst service at a restaurant. Wouldn’t that look different than giving the usual lousy tip for lousy service. That is what makes you look like a Christian.

This week Pastor had us write down something on an index card. He had us write down something that was done to us that really hurt us and also who did it. Then he had us tear it up and urged us to forgive that person in our hearts if we haven’t already. No good can come from hoarding grudges. I might try this with the kids, but really I’m open to ideas. I’m not sure if you just don’t get it till you’re older… but I also feel like most adults would rather get even then forgive and show love. I’m by no means perfect, I hold onto those negative feelings as well as anybody, but I’ve learned to forgive just like I hope I’ve been forgiven for past hurts I have dealt. After all, usually what you’re mad about really isn’t that important in the end. And forgiveness is so rewarding. 

So here is the process for the Bible Journaling. I kept it pretty simple again, and actually I used Roo’s bible this time because I kinda messed mine up… but that Barnes and Noble giftcard I’m using to spread paint just got emptied on another journaling Bible online. It was a present from one of my piano students (THANK YOU!) I had to spend an extra $3 over the $25 GC, but there is a coupon running now.. so I got a Bible that was already on sale, then an extra 20% off that… and free shipping, so the total was $28.  So my first journaling Bible might serve as a tester now… we’ll see.

Here’s the coupon link.

Barnes and Noble Coupon

So HERE is actually the process video:

The lettering was actually inspired by a sticker…  I went to use it, but it was too big, so I just copied the style. Then I added some more stickers at the end that kinda went with the color theme.

Hope everyone is having an inspiring week so far!  God Bless!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

