Bible Journaling – Genesis

Actually, this is more toward Bible Arting…  I wasn’t even going to add words, but I did. Not sure I like em yet. But sometimes you like things later. When it’s too fresh, you can’t look at things right. You have to give it the time test and then see how ya feel about it.

So … very exciting for me is this new Bible! I am a big-time Autumn fan, and this one has leaves all over the cover.

image

So this is my very first page in this Bible.

And… I decided to start with Genesis. And not because it’s the first book in the Bible, but because it’s been calling me to go back and re-visit it. And there also happens to be a giant series of excellent sermons done by a friend of ours who is a Pastor at Island Baptist Church in LBI on Genesis so I already have accompanying viewable commentary.

You can check that out here: HopeofLBI.com

Honestly, I kinda thought I would lean more towards the chunky cluttered look for this new Bible, but after doing one page, I think it may be going in the black pen and crayon direction with little to no over-time expanding width.

image

I think it’s just a pretty bible on it’s own. So when I started drawing, I kinda got zoned out. And it reminded me of when I was young and how I used to zone out for hours listening to music and drawing. Like your brain gets taken over and you’re just floating. Sometimes it happens when you’re playing music too… I guess it could happen doing anything you enjoy. Sometimes I wonder if this is the real means to “getting high” that God gave us. I have no idea what that feels like from drugs… but I can imagine it is a sublime temporary escape. I do know what drunk feels like, and I used to feel like I had to have a drink before playing out somewhere or going to a social event so that I wouldn’t be so nervous, shy, and unfriendly. And I remember my late night song-writing rituals involved a glass of merlot. And the kind of songs that followed were tributes to sin. Shocker.

How did this turn into a past time confession? I mean, I don’t think I drank a lot, usually one glass of something was enough… but like I said. It was a means to change myself and how I related to this world. I now know that I don’t need that. I still feel nervous and anxious in certain situations, but in every instance I have to remind myself that I can’t do anything alone. I have to give it to God because it’s too big for me. And it’s awesome to get totally wrapped up in creating using what the Ultimate Creator gave us.

image

It always looks like I’m giving myself an F for my work in these pics…   maybe I should use a different plate to hold my little pencils and erasers…

When I think about Genesis 1, I think about all the awesome things God created. And though it talks about day, and night, and land, and water, and animals, and man, and all that…  TREES.… are my fav. It’s no secret. I think a lot of people like drawing trees. They’re just so pretty. So for me, this represents on of my favorite things God created. And I kinda drew them in an autumn state, because that’s also my favorite season as I said earlier. And it just goes along with the style of the Bible. So… yea. Or maybe it’s just that I finally watched the movie version of “Into the Woods…”  Mother said, straight ahead, not to delay or be mislead! I should’ve heeded her advice… but he seemed so nice… 

Ok, so I did a process vid and sped it up to 6 minutes… though in real time probably took about an hour.

I mainly just used my journaling pens, and gelatos and crayons to color it in. And sometimes I use my bible highlighters to color as well. So I think I did that a little bit in the end just to bring out certain words…

image

So I may add more trees as the mood strikes, but I think this is enough for the Genesis forest so far.

Here’s the speedy process:


Happy Friday and have an awesome weekend!

Love,
Fitty fitter Karenhead

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Bible Journaling – Genesis

Leave a Reply

